top of page

Yogi Spotlight: Tanesha Smikle

We all started somewhere. Before we made amazing progress in our yoga practice we had to learn how to start.


Every month I am sharing the spotlight on yogis who I've met over the years.  I hope their stories will inspire and motivate you in your yoga practice. This Month the spotlight goes on ……. Tanesha Smikle.

She is an amazing yogi and mother who I've connected with on instagram. We started our yoga journey around the same time 4 years ago.



Image Courtesy of: @Tsmikle



SFCY: Tell us a little bit about yourself :)


Tanesha: I'm a mother of one daughter, 40 years old. Always have been a fitness lover. Love the outdoors, being active, dancing, cooking for friends. I'm probably the biggest kid around, I just love being goofy and silly! My favorite favorite thing is laughing! If you can make me laugh, we'll probably hit it off!


SFCY: How did you get introduced to yoga and when did yoga get serious?


Tanesha: A couple fitness gurus I was following kept stressing the importance of flexibility, something I had never devoted any time to prior. So I started slowly introducing stretching into my routine, then a little yoga here and there.


Honestly it got serious when I decided to do an arm balance challenge on IG, by one of the aforementioned gurus. I discovered this community and found out that yoga was not just “some stretching" That it was quite challenging on many levels, and I instantly fell in love! SFCY: Can you share your biggest challenges you within practicing yoga?


Tanesha: Biggest challenge within practicing yoga, is probably letting go of the ego! A work in progress, good progress 😊 SFCY: Where do you find your motivation to keep practicing?


Tanesha: My motivation honestly comes from within. I've always been very passionate about fitness and being active and just moving. Whenever I go too long without my practice or physical activity, it really starts to take its toll on me and I always feel my best when I get back to that and stay on track

SFCY: What was your most embarrassing moment during your yoga journey?


Tanesha: I would have to say when I fell out of a pose and broke my toe, earlier on in my practice. SFCY: How did yoga influence your life beyond the mat?


Tanesha: Yoga has really helped me to be able to remain calm in certain situations, to look at things a little differently than I previously would have! Has really helped with self love and acceptance!



Photo Credit: @tsmikle


SFCY: What does your typical day look like?

Tanesha:I typically wake at 5 AM. I start my day with warm lemon water, then meditation, then yoga. Followed by getting my daughter ready and off to school, then work. Evenings are typically spent preparing for the next day. Sometimes I have a little me time before bed - a nice hot Epsom salt bath always helps to calm me for a good night's sleep. 


SFCY: What is your favorite style to practice?


Tanesha: Currently, I'm really a huge fan of Yin practice. I wanted nothing to do with this type of practice in the beginning, but now it is my absolute fav!


SFCY: Who is your inspiration?


Tanesha: My daughter. She amazes me with her fearlessness, her strength and determination. I learn so much from her.


SFCY: What are your future plans/goals/dreams for your yoga practice?


Tanesha: To continue expanding on my practice and knowledge of the practice! Being able to share my passion for the practice with others, completing YTT (Yoga Teacher Training))




Photo credit: @Tsmikle


 

Well, that sums up this Week's Yogi Spotlight. If you want to be featured send an email to Info@Simplyfitandcurvyyoga.com Namaste!


 

Kenya Marsh is the founder of SimplyFitandCurvyYoga (SFCY) and Author of several books including Yoga for Beginners: A Great Way to Start. As a wife, stay-at-home mom of two, and yoga teacher. Kenya knows how challenging and beneficial a steady yoga practice can be. She understands it can be hard to start a new yoga journey alone. She created this website, along with courses, books, and more materials to help provide support to busy yogis elevate their yoga practice.

96 views0 comments

Lets Connect!

bottom of page